Meet the Governors

Current Membership

Rokesly Junior School benefits from a committed group of governors who can offer a wide range of skills and come from a wide variety of different backgrounds.  The governors and their areas of interest and responsibility are:

Bola Soneye-Thomas: Headteacher, Junior School

Bola joined Rokesly Junior School in January 2007. Coming from a background in which she has coordinated a number of subject areas, Bola’s deepest commitment is to inclusion in its broadest sense. Her vision is to develop further and extend opportunities within the school so that every child can develop the skills that bring real choices in life.

Karen Peacock: Vice Chair of Governors and Premises Lead

Karen has two daughters, one in the infants and one in the juniors, and has been a governor since January 2019.  A Chartered Accountant by training, Karen now works in a governance role in an International Bank.

Kate Barry: Chair of Governors

Nigel Leskin: Local Authority Governor (Chair of Resources)

Nigel brings 20 years of experience to the role of governor, having first been elected as a parent governor and then serving as Chair for 10 years. Nigel has served on all committees in both schools and is a Local Authority representative on the governing body.  He is an active member of the resources and curriculum committees. By profession, Nigel is a criminal and immigration lawyer.

Kerree Ahern:  Co-opted Governor (Safeguarding Governor)

Kerree was elected as a parent governor in 2006 and is the Vice Chair of Governors for the Junior school.  She also chairs the personnel committee, is a member of the finance, curriculum and communications committees and is the specialist SEN and child protection governor for both schools.  Her areas of special interest include raising achievement for all children and parental involvement.  Kerree has three children, all of whom attended Rokesly Juniors.  She previously worked in the NHS developing health strategies in public health departments.

Katy Derbyshire: Parent Governor and Chair of Curriculum Committee. 

Katy joined the governors in November 2020. She is a Clinical Scientist in Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics and works in the NHS. She has two children who attend Rokesly Junior School.

​Daniel-Cain Reed – SEN/D Link Governor 

Daniel joined the governing body in October 2021 as the SEN/D link governor and is an Assistant Headteacher & SENCO at Haringey Learning Partnership, a partnership of the borough’s alternative provision schools catering for students who need additional support to be successful in mainstream schools. Daniel is an English teacher and has been a Head of Year in another Haringey secondary school. Daniel completed the Teach First programme in 2016 and is a participant in the Difference Leaders programme. Daniel completed his MA in Educational Leadership with a dissertation exploring the impact of leadership with moral purpose on the attainment of Black Caribbean students. Daniel is committed to supporting school leaders in developing inclusive practice so that all students, regardless of need or ability, are able to successfully engage in mainstream education. 

Fadie Georgiou: Staff Governor

Fadie joined Rokesly Junior School as deputy headteacher in September 2021. She has spent the majority of her life and career living and working in Haringey.  Fadie is committed to inclusive practice and learning opportunities to enable all children to have positive experiences, feel secure, happy and confident in school. Fadie has experience across the primary age range and she has worked in schools in Haringey, Enfield and Waltham Forest.

Joanna Neilson: Staff Governor

Joanna has been working at Rokesly as a class teacher since September 2018. However, she has been employed at the school since 2008, in her previous role as a teaching assistant. She has created the school garden which she continues to develop and believes that all children should have the opportunity to grow and eat their own produce. She has worked with a number of children on a 1:1 basis and has also delivered intervention programmes. Prior to joining the staff at Rokesly Joanna was a director at a city recruitment consultancy. She has two children both of which have attended the school.

Medina Howard: Co-opted Governor 

Contact Us

Rokesly Junior School
Rokesly Avenue,
London, N8 8NH

Phone: 020 8348 0290

Headteacher: Bola Soneye-Thomas